Driving under the influence (DUI) is a crime in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania that is punishable by hefty fines, license suspensions, license revocations and even jail terms depending upon the occurrence of the crime.
A motorist is considered to have committed the crime of DUI when he or she fails a blood alcohol test and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures 0.08 percent or higher. DWI laws have changed throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania over the past handful of years and being counseled by a Pennsylvania DWI Lawyer can mean the difference between serving a lengthy jail term or just paying a fine.
A Pennsylvanian DWI Attorney will be able to perform a thorough investigation of the DWI charge. The investigation will include the initial traffic stop, a breathalyzer test, a chemical refusal, a blood test and the arrest itself. Our Central Pennsylvania DWI Lawyers have extensive experience with pre-trial arraignments, pre-trial conferences, motions, negotiations, preliminary hearings and the trial.
A Pennsylvanian DWI-DUI conviction can lead to the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license if there has been conviction on one count or more of DWI/DUI. Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) on a Pennsylvania roadway can result in one or more of the following punishments when sentenced by a Pennsylvania court of law:
Alcohol highway traffic school
Pennsylvania driver’s license suspension
Pennsylvania driver’s license revocation
Ignition interlock device (IID)
Impoundment of your vehicle
Accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD)
Fines levied in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for a DUI-DWI charge can range from $300 to $10,000 and a driver’s license suspension can range from one month to one year or even longer.
Jail terms can range from several days, months or to an indefinite amount of time determined by the Pennsylvania court during the legal proceedings. DWI laws are also subject to individuals who are legally not permitted to drink alcoholic beverages. Anyone under the age of 21 who is charged with DWI in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is subject to the same DWI laws as motorists over the age of 21 that are convicted on DWI in the state. Additional penalties for driving on a suspended license DWI/DUS, DUI/DUS, DUS or Driving Without a License – DWOL.
Have you received a traffic ticket or have you been charged with a crime in Pennsylvania? It is imperative to contact a Pennsylvania criminal law attorney today. Please call toll free: 1-866-596-9384 / 1-866-59-MY-DUI. No worries. Simply contact our Pennsylvania traffic ticket lawyers today.
We are an experienced Pennsylvania law firm focusing on Family Law, DUI Defense, Criminal Defense, and Social Security Disability.